This Month, London’s finest food enthusiasts gathered at the spectacular Holborn Dining Room for the 22nd Tabasco® British Oyster Opening Championship.  Host Brian Turner welcomed an enthusiastic audience, including a host of well-known faces from the hospitality industry – all eager to celebrate the start of the oyster season.


Eleven professional oyster openers competed for the British title, seven of which for the first time and all representing some of the UK’s finest seafood restaurants or oyster suppliers.

Third place was awarded to oyster aficionado Tristan Hugh Jones, while Filippo Salamone from Bentley’s, London came a close second.

2014’s winner was Hugo De La Rosa. Hugo showed great skill, composure, and some extremely quick knife work as he opened his 30 Loch Ryan native oysters – bringing home the title for Wright Brothers, Spitalfields.

As well as being treated to an exciting afternoon of entertainment, there was a regular flow of Pommery Champagne, and guests enjoyed the first natives of the season with a splash of Tabasco® Pepper Sauce.

1st Hugo De La Rosa, Wright Brothers, Spitalfields, London – 3.24

2nd Filippo Salamone, Bentley’s, London – 3.58

3rd Tristan Hugh Jones, Loch Ryan Oyster Fishery, London – 4.23

4th Michael Heins, Scotts, London – 4.24

5th Anna Gawlick, English’s of Brighton – 4.32

6th Tamasso Sicuro, Wiltons, London – 5.29

7th Davide Zanga, Selfridges, London – 5.50

8th Amaryllis Therminott, Riddle & Finns, Brighton – 6.10

9th Wayab Mazouz, Bibendum, London – 6.16

10th Ahmed abd el moneim Aly, Coastline Galacia, London – 6.44

11th Mattia Vittorio Cannone, Holborn Dining Room, London – 6.49

Comments are closed.


To use this website, you must be aged 18 years or over
* by clicking above, I agree that I am over 18 years of age