This week, over one hundred food enthusiasts gathered at one of London’s finest oyster bars – J Sheekey – to cheer on master oyster openers who were competing in the 21st Tabasco® British Oyster Opening Championship. Host Brian Turner welcomed an enthusiastic audience, with a little help from special guest Janet Street Porter. Fresh from the MasterChef kitchen, Janet conversed with 12 fiercely competitive professionals from the restaurant industry as they battled it out for the British title.


Regular competitor and 2012 winner Sam Tamsanguan of Wiltons Restaurant, St James’s, was triumphant once again, opening and perfectly presenting 30 oysters in a speedy 3 minutes 23 seconds. Frederik Lindfors from The Fish Shop came a close second and Michael Heins from renowned seafood restaurant Scott’s was placed third – a remarkable progression from tenth place last year.

As always the atmosphere was festive with guests encouraging competitors on as they savoured the UK’s first natives of the season enhanced with the essential kick of Tabasco® Pepper Sauce.

POSITIONS and Final Time

1st Sam Tamsanguan, Wilton’s, London – 3.23

2nd Fredrik Lindfors, The Fish Shop, London – 4.20

3rd Michael Heins, Scott’s, London – 4.28

4th Serge Ahua, J Sheekey, London – 4.44

5th Filippo Salamone, Bentley’s, London – 5.00

6th Randall Hargreaves, Selfridges Oyster Bar, London – 5.19

7th Mike Dawson, West Mersea Oysters – 5.37

8th Federico De Nipoti, Corrigan’s, London – 5.51

9th David Roi, Riddle and Fins, Brighton -7.19

10th Jonathan Speirs, English’s of Brighton -7.49

11th Thomas Haft, Yum Yum Ninja, Brighton – 8.28

12th Stuart Bowman, Chapman’s, Brighton -8.50

Food Matters

Laura Alix

Tel: 0207 371 6466


Comments are closed.


To use this website, you must be aged 18 years or over
* by clicking above, I agree that I am over 18 years of age